Searching for the Moon

Shannon Clark's rambles and conversations on food, geeks, San Francisco and occasionally economics

Looking back on 2011 and forward to 2012

Posted by shannonclark on January 1, 2012

2011 ends in just minutes as I write this and it has been a year of highs and lows, perhaps too many lows. In any case I am looking forward to 2012, the first full year of marriage for me – I was married this past Fall – that’s definitely a major highlight of my year. But as well there have been some major lows – sudden deaths, professional disappointments (both my own and those of close friends) all in all 2011 has been a rough year and one that can’t end too soon.

Every year however I look back on the last year and forward to the next and wonder what I will be doing this time next year, what will have happened in the year to come and what will seem so common by the end of year that I can’t even quite imagine as the year begins.

Last year at New Years Eve I would not have guessed that this year I would end the year a married man, sitting at home watching local tv with my wife – very very happily doing so. The new year will start with a day of home chores – laundry and house cleaning and then the week begins with work.

A few years ago I spent New Years Eve at a friend’s house – at the time I was single – there was a tradition in that household (I think) where you wrote down one word that would be your theme (and goal) for the year to come. My word that year was “companionship”.

In 2011 I more than got that and I enter 2012 with the best companion in the world – my wife.

I love you Usha.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,619 other followers

