Searching for the Moon

Shannon Clark's rambles and conversations on food, geeks, San Francisco and occasionally economics

Archive for December 30th, 2003

dropload

Posted by shannonclark on December 30, 2003

dropload

This is a simple and elegant solution to a problem I have somewhat frequently encountered. Specifically – how to send (or get) a very large file from someone without having a shared network connection. I have solved this personally by setting up one of my corporate servers with a similar (but one-directional) service and with a password protected client/partner login area.

Dropload offers a solution for larger scale and more distributed concerns.

A thought that occurs to me is that this service could be very helpful in distributing large files to a widely dispersed group – i.e. an open network working on a project for example.

It will also be handy when working not on my own servers or when working with shorter term projects/assignments – i.e. a friend asks me to review a file too large to email, this is a way for us to share that file in a quick, rapid fashion.

Very cool.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »