Searching for the Moon

Shannon Clark's rambles and conversations on food, geeks, San Francisco and occasionally economics

Mail delays

Posted by shannonclark on May 22, 2007

While friends of mine recommend cutting back on email to once a day (or even once a week) – see Tim Ferriss’s bestselling The 4 hour Work Week – I do not fully ascribe to this suggestion. For one, I have spent many of the past few years training by behavior my friends, family and clients that email is the fastest and most reliable way to reach me – usually better even than calling me (and certainly better than calling my home number which I don’t even know – never giving it out).

So for the past few days I have been a state of semi-withdrawal For some reason, still unknown to me, my mail is being delayed at my mail server for nearly 24hrs. It is a shared server run by a friend, whom I have asked to look into what might be the problem, the server is up, seemingly functional, but my mail is delayed considerably.

Reading my mail at the moment is a bit like a time warp, I’m reading conversations, suggestions, invitations which were made yesterday, often now no longer relevant or important.

So, if you have tried to contact me recently (via my JigZaw.com email) please use one of the following alternative means to reach me (I hope I’ll eventually get your email as my mail catches up).

1. Call me at 1.800.454.4929. If I don’t answer, please leave a voicemail with who you are and how to get back to you.

2. Email me at shannon DOT clark AT gmail DOT com  (and please mention your previous email so I watch out for it)

3. Send me a Twitter dm. My id there is rycaut.

And I hope this will all be resolved in a few days. I’ll be on a mini-vacation to the Midwest for the next week so responses would have been delayed in any case.

Leave a Reply

 
