Searching for the Moon

Shannon Clark's rambles and conversations on food, geeks, San Francisco and occasionally economics

Networking Advice – non-valley style

Posted by shannonclark on July 31, 2007

I am a geek. Let me get that right out there, in high school and even in college I was not by any stretch the most popular kid around, heck in high school as a freshman and sophomore I wasn’t all that comfortable calling girls on the phone (this was in the late-80’s, long before cell phones).

Why do I mention this?

Well since college I have become a fairly serious networker. I run conferences, organize events, attend many others and close to 100% of my business development happens as a result of the contacts and connections I make at events (and at follow ups to events such as dinners after).

At the closing party for the Mobile MeshWalk I held last March here in San Francisco one of the MeshWalkers told me a story of advice and training he had received from his boss when he first arrived in Silicon Valley. The advice – “don’t spend more than 2 minutes talking to someone at a networking event, look at their nametag and decide quickly if they are worth your time, if not move on”.

He noted that this was horrible advice – and thanked me for organizing an event which broke with that model and tradition – an event which encouraged longer conversations.

In the past week here in Silicon Valley you could have attended a major networking event/party nearly every single night. Last night it was a blogger dinner (at $40 a pop), Saturday it was my friend Scott Beale’s LaughingSquid Paradise Lost fundraiser, Friday night it was the infamous TechCrunch party at August Capital, Thursday night my friend’s at Satisfaction held an office warming, cupcake party. Wednesday I held my MeshWalk Palo Alto.

Leaving aside my own event, which both was different from the others by virtue of being a full day event and which my results from differ because I am the organizer of the event, the other events show both what is great about the valley and what is so very wrong. My friend’s boss’s advice being the starting point.

In the Valleywag coverage of the TechCrunch party one paragraph by my former college editor Owen Thomas stood out to me.

It was the same small talk, the same pitches, and the same scanning of nametags before faces as any other Valley networking event. With one small hitch — partygoers were asked to fill out their own nametags, and most neglected to include their company information. That omission perplexed at least one venture capitalist in attendance. “I feel like I’m walking socially blind,” he confessed. “I don’t know how important these people are to me.” You mean Arrington’s velvet rope-holders let in some hoi polloi who aren’t worth your time, let alone your capital? Quelle horreur!

A few things to note here. One, Owen observes the same behavior I have, the scanning of nametags to judge whether someone is worthy of time spent talking with them. Two, the sense that lacking this context you are “socially blind”. Three, the implication that you should only talk with “important” people.

Let me now give you, the reader, some different advice.

And so you can judge me, some context. I run a conference on the study of networks, most weeks I meet my personal goal of meeting 5-10 new people (and have for nearly over a decade – do the math), my last event, the MeshWalk Palo Alto drew nearly 100 entrepreneurs and investors for a day of walking, was sponsored by Mohr Davidow Ventures, and well over a dozen angels and vc’s participated.

So, my advice.

1. Networking is about giving and listening.

Spend your time when you meet people thinking about how you can help them. Often this can be both very simple and immediate – introduce people who you meet at a party to each other. As you do, mention why you are introducing them i.e. “John, meet Jenny, she mentioned that she’s looking at deals in the healthcare space and you were telling me about your friend’s new medical startup…”

To do this well you have to be listening. Listen not for a pause when you can enter and pitch yourself/company/product/investment opportunity, listen for how you and the person you are talking with can form a connection.

2. Have a very concise, two or three at the most sentence explanation for yourself.

This is something I have to work on, in part because I am working on too many projects at once (three startups, one ongoing non-profit, writing a book on economics). But for all of the projects I am involved in, I can explain them very simply and quickly – in a few simple, easy to understand sentences – which generally get a reaction of head nodding and interest in the project.

Getting to this point is not easy. In many ways it is harder than writing a long business plan. You have to strip away everything that is unnecessary and communicate quickly what you are working on. Without, ideally, doing so in a jargon or buzzword filled manner (I never use terms such as “web 2.0” when describing my projects, even those that are, in fact, “web 2.0” in spirit).

The point of this is to get the introductions behind you and to give someone stuff to continue to talk with you about – give them hooks to a conversation.

3. Parties and events are the starting point, not the end point.

Photos with celebs can be fun. Being on the guest list is always nice. But from a business perspective the conversations and discussions at a party are just the starting point. Make a point of following up with people – in ways that emphasize giving not taking. If while you are talking with someone you mention a book they should read, a person they should talk to, when you get back from the party fire off a quick email introduction or a reminder about the book/website/tool you mentioned. This does not take long but has a very real impact.

4. It is not quid-pro-quo.

Frequently people’s reaction when you do something for them is to try to “pay you back”. There is a strong sense that networking is some form of accounts – that you do favors and then collect on them, that people “owe you”.

Please, break yourself of this instinct. Not the part of it which inspires you to help others, but the part which tries to keep accounts, which tries to weigh whether someone can help you before you help them.

If I were to trace back the links and connections which have, in the past, resulted in business deals and opportunities for me, rarely is the line simple or direct. Usually it is something more like:

I was at an event, got into a conversation with another attendee, we went out for dinner as a group, later followed up via emails, over time those emails led to me participating in an online discussion group, later that led to other introductions, those introductions led to meetings while I was visiting CA, when I moved out to CA those occasional meetings grew more frequent, leading to participation at an event, which led to going to another event, which led to a conversation, that led to a lunch meeting in NYC, which led to a partnership to start three companies this year.

And that’s the relatively simple, straightforward version.

The full, detailed account would take a lot longer to explain – and takes many more twists and turns and mutual introductions and reconnections.

But, by giving back, by helping others via my comments, introductions and referrals, I have gotten far more. Not via direct paybacks, but indirectly.

5. Know what to ask for, and very important, ask for it.

People often ask me, “How do you get…” (sponsors, attendees, speakers, funding, clients, partners etc).

My usual and true answer is “I ask.”

It is amazing how few people do and how often asking the right people for the right thing gets amazing results.

Critically I do not usually ask in ways that only lead to yes or no. Rather I ask for something very specific (will you speak? Can you sponsor this?) but also for something openended “Who else should be speaking? Who should I be talking with about this? What should I read or take a look at?”.

This combination of specific and openended has worked very well for me. The specific leads to a yes or a no (and seriously, getting a quick no is really valuable – the worst result is the indeterminate answer that delays you from asking others). By asking for something open ended you give people a chance to help even if they can’t immediately do your specific request – i.e. if they can’t fund you, they may still help via some introductions, if they can’t make it to your event they may help via inviting someone to go in their place.

Getting to the point where you know what to ask for, however, is hard work. You have to really deeply understand your project and what next steps you need to take.

A few specific examples to help illustrate this.

I have many projects going at the moment. However what we need, for now, is not overly complicated.

– we need specific types of partners for trials we plan for our ad network this fall (publishers, advertisers)

– this is leading to needing serious investment (but for now we’re starting to talk with investors but mostly need to know who might be good fits when we are ready)

– for my next few MeshWalk’s I need participants (in Seattle Aug 12) and sponsors (for NYC in Sept)

– for another project which we are about to launch, we will need the right type of (probably) angel investor interested in content investments (online and to a degree offline)

– for that same project we need to talk with large (ideally trade show sized) event organizers in Chicago or San Francisco

We have other needs – for beta testers, for future hires, for certain types of partners. But, those are my current priorities and thus what I mostly ask for when it is appropriate to ask. And I have what we are looking for down pretty specifically (I can get into details about the trials this fall for example).

Specifics, even if open ended i.e. “who should speak”, lead generally to better results than very vague and uncertain questions.

i.e. don’t ask “can you help me with my startup”

Ask for something more specific. I have a call scheduled later this week with a former CEO who built, took public, and sold a company in a space we’re entering. My call is to get his perspective on our plans and to ask him if he would join our board (at least our advisory board, but very likely after we raise funds our formal board). This is very specific and importantly, he knows why I am talking with him (his perspective and advice would be very helpful plus his association would help as we raise money). I am also going to be asking him specifically about hiring sales and business development people in this space.

I hope this is helpful. Please leave comments with other advice (and feel free to point out alternatives or clarifications to this document).

13 Responses to “Networking Advice – non-valley style”

  1. leeaase said

    Excellent article! I read it on Scoble’s recommendation because I don’t live in the Valley. I really like the part about not scanning nametags, and instead having your first thought be “how can I help you?” For those of us who physically couldn’t get to all the events you mentioned, Facebook is a great way to make some initial connections of this type.

  2. Simos said

    Useful and very interesting insight to the networking events in the Valley Shannon. And very useful advice, will be taking it on board for Tuesday Geektails (see below)

    We are lacking those events here in London, so we decided to start one from September, called Tuesday Geektails, to bring together everyone interested in Internet Startups.

    Facebook Group URL:
    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=2508525761&pwstdfy=9d24c5e52820428a8064b0660b23385a

    Any more tips/advice for these events will be most welcome!

  3. rslux said

    As much as I know I should attend networking events I utterly hate doing so.

    Here’s why: I can’t stand the feeling of invisibility that I get while I’m standing there in a room full of people, gamely smiling, looking at all the groups of people chatting away, and nobody ever seems to want to talk to me. I feel rude trying to walk up to one of the groups and join in, and it feels like the other people standing alone all try not to make eye contact with me so that they don’t have to talk with me either.

    It’s excruciating, and it never seems to get any easier. What makes it even worse is that I’m not a classic introverted geek in a t-shirt. I’m well-groomed, well-dressed, and in other social contexts, I’m far from shy or withdrawn. But put me at one of these things and forget it. I feel like an utter loser.

  4. Jeff said

    Thank you for writing this.

    It’s mostly obvious, but it’s important that we be reminded. I’ve also gone to way too many valley “networking” events lately where I have not had a meaningful conversation (on some occasions my fault, and on others despite my best efforts).

    I’ll look forward to your next SF event!

  5. Adam Metz said

    This is excellent reading; I must say, I did send the Lifehack article about how to exit a conversation in 3 minutes, but I know that’s something that’s definitely not always the right idea – I’ve had amazing 30-minute conversations with people at events – as long as you’re certain that both parties are getting something out of it, go with the flow, right?

  6. Tony Chung said

    Agreed, great article!

  7. […] Networking Advice – non-valley style « Searching for the Moon 1. Networking is about giving and listening. 2. Have a concise, two- or three-sentence explanation for yourself. 3. Parties and events are the starting point, not the end. 4. It’s not quid-pro-quo. 5. Know what to ask for, and very important, ask for it. (tags: advice networking community shannonclark novaspivack robertscoble facebook siliconvalley) […]

  8. Ellen Leanse said

    So refreshing to read this. Your outlook honors the “process” of connecting, rather than the “outcome.” Seems to me that this is a winning approach, regardless of what you do in life.

    Thank you.

  9. Web Worker Daily » Blog Archive How to Network like a Human, not a Computer « said

    […] week, bloggers Shannon Clark and Chris Brogan shared their networking tips, which begin to answer the question of how to be […]

  10. Jim McGee said

    Must be a function of your midwestern upbringing at the core of your excellent advice. One implication is that you do need a good bit of patience for all of this to work. But, it’s the same sort of patience that understands that lasting structures have to be built on strong foundations

  11. Great basic advice which even seasoned networkers can find helpful. Thanks!

  12. […] week, bloggers Shannon Clark and Chris Brogan shared their networking tips, which begin to answer the question of how to be […]

  13. […] Networking Advice–non-valley style: Shannon Clark’s advice is full of pearls of wisdom for great networking. […]

Leave a Reply

 
