Searching for the Moon

Shannon Clark's rambles and conversations on food, geeks, San Francisco and occasionally economics

Holiday shopping for geeks – the XO laptop (OLPC)

Posted by shannonclark on November 9, 2007

In three days the One Laptop Per Child project will be opening up their Give 1 Get 1 limited time offer. For $399 you donate a laptop to the developing world and get an XO laptop delivered to you.

I had planned on buying one since the rumors that they might come up with some program for individuals here in the US to get one started months ago.  My biggest debate has been do I buy one or do I buy two (for myself + guests).

But now what was always an amazing offer has only gotten even better (and even more of a no-brainer).

T-Mobile has partnered with OLPC and has offered a full year of wifi hotspot access to everyone who participates in the Give 1 Get 1 program.

I already spend $40/month on t-mobil wifi hotspot access (or $480 a year).

So this is a complete no-brainer. I get a truly amazing tool and hackable device (everything is open source and the source can be viewed and modified with a simple click from nearly any screen in the OS) and I actually save $80 next year.

And I give a laptop to a child in the developing world.

Oh, and $200 of my purchase price is a tax-deductible donation.

So if you have not already, go sign up for the mailing list reminder and then sometime before Nov 26 order your very own XO laptop. And for the geeks in your life, consider ordering one as a gift for them (and don’t worry, if they already have one the XO laptops are actually more useful in multiples – collaboration software is built into the DNA of the OS).

One Response to “Holiday shopping for geeks – the XO laptop (OLPC)”

  1. PixelFish said

    Saw your comment on Scalzi’s Kindle thread about using the XO laptop as an e-reader. I was planning on doing the same. I guess great minds think alike.🙂

Leave a Reply

 
