Searching for the Moon

Shannon Clark's rambles and conversations on food, geeks, San Francisco and occasionally economics

The New Kings of Nonfiction edited by Ira Glass (a review)

Posted by shannonclark on November 10, 2007

The New Kings of Nonfiction

Yesterday while ducking out of the rain in the Nolita part of NYC, I stopped by one of my favorite stores in all of Manhattan, McNally & Robinson Books & Cafe (52 Prince St NYC).

While there I picked up a fantastic new book – The New Kings of Nonfiction which is edited by Ira Glass. Inside are many of the best articles from the past few years, long form non-fiction which I have in many cases referred to in the past, even one which quite literally helped change the direction of my life. All gathered together in an easy to own and read collection celebrating what great writing and journalists can (and I would argue) should be doing.

In this collection to note a few of many highlights you can find:

Malcolm Gladwell with his long article which for me started it all – “Six Degrees of Lois Weisberg”. This article which I read when it was first published helped spark my own interest in networks which lead directly to my founding the MeshForum conference series.

James McManus with the article that would later be expanded into his best selling book, and which is a direct precurser to the Poker craze which has come to so dominate US culture (and TV) – “Fortune’s Smile: World Series of Poker”

I have not yet finished this book (though likely by the time I go to bed tonight this will no longer be the case). I am eagerly awaiting each and every story – my trust in Ira Glass’ editorial ear is complete – I’ve been a fan of This American Life from the first episodes when it launched only on Chicago Public Radio. The topics and the authors he has selected also include many other journalists I highly respect, writers such as Dan Savage.

Plus all of the proceeds of this book are going to support 826chi. A drop-in literacy program (and spy shop) in Chicago.

So go buy your self a copy of this great book, support fantastically high quality writing, great (and true) stories, and a very good cause.

Leave a Reply

 
