Searching for the Moon

Shannon Clark's rambles and conversations on food, geeks, San Francisco and occasionally economics

MacWorld – covering for CenterNetworks

Posted by shannonclark on January 15, 2008

I will be covering MacWorld for CenterNetworks. Unfortunately I probably won’t be able to get my press credentials in time to get into the keynote (I may give it a shot early in the morning if I’m up and moving but I’ve been told it is unlikely).

With a press pass my experience of the conference likely will be a bit different than it was in years past when I was “just” there with an exhibit badge. A further difference will be that this year I have a bunch of friends who are working for companies who are exhibiting (in a few cases companies which they own and founded), I also have a large group of friends who are attending MacWorld and also going to the many related parties and events occurring around town all week. So this should be a different yet also fun way to experience the conference.

I am debating whether to bring my laptop or my XO laptop to cover the show. I don’t have a Mac portable – so either machine will almost certainly stand out. From a purely practical standpoint there are some arguments for the ThinkPad – but from a pure fun and engagement with others standpoint the XO wins heads down – I have yet to bring it out somewhere without drawing a crowd of people – most of whom ask where they can buy their own. I suspect even at MacWorld a similar reaction will be found (unless of course as I suspect Apple has a few amazing laptops of their own to reveal…)

So tune in tomorrow for my posts throughout the day and all week long – and follow me via twitter if you want the live as it happens coverage. (such as it is)

One Response to “MacWorld – covering for CenterNetworks”

  1. YAY! whats an XO laptop?

Leave a Reply

 
